100 Problems in Celestial Navigation by
Traditional navigation with a sextant, an almanac, and a book of tables is still thriving, even with the availability of accurate, cheap GPS receivers. Batteries sometimes go dead, and electronic devices fail, especially in salt air. Also, it can be satisfying, and fun, to work out a position and plot it, all on your own - but getting good at it requires some practice. 100 Problems is a self-contained book of realistic celestial navigation problems, including excerpts of all the necessary Nautical Almanac pages and sight-reduction tables, with answers and explanations. All of the regularly encountered navigation situations are covered, as well as those that are used only occasionally and whose routines may have been forgotten, such as the backsight, shooting an unknown body, finding Venus in daylight, and storm avoidance. Procedures for all the needed methods are outlined in an appendix, for review and for reference, and a sight-reduction form is included. It may be photocopied, for non-commercial use. In the problems, emphasis is on actual conditions at sea, so sometimes sights are poor or planned-for bodies are not visible. Errors are made - and an occasional blunder - as in real life. Book jacket.
American Practical Navigator by Bridge team management : a practical guide by Bridge team management : a practical guide by Chapman Piloting - Seamanship & Small Boat Handling by 
Chapman Piloting and Seamanship 67th Edition by
More than ever, boaters need a single comprehensive reference that combines the best traditions of seamanship with cutting-edge practices, gear, and technology. That's why, for nearly a century, Chapman Piloting & Seamanship has remained the most respected and widely used guide for boating under power and sail. No other book on the subject is more current or complete. This 67th revised edition is not only fully updated, it is also enhanced in fundamental ways. Key additions include a new chapter on inboard diesel and gasoline engines; how-to maintenance information for outboard, sterndrive, and inboard engines; a complete integration of the tools and techniques of electronic navigation (GPS, chartplotters, and radar) with Chapman's unsurpassed treatment of traditional chart-and-compass piloting skills; improved coverage of sailing theory and sail-handling systems; updated techniques for rescuing a person overboard and administering CPR; and the latest information on new anchor designs, safety gear, rope, hardware, and communications. You'll also find information about weather, tides, aids to navigation, and more, including: Explanations of the laws, regulations, fees, and equipment requirements governing the nation's waterways. No other book is more current than Chapman in this regard 1,500 all-color photos, charts, and drawings Updated references for government publications, registration and safety information, and more, both in print and online Anyone who sets forth on the water needs this indispensable volume.
Dutton's Nautical Navigation by
As paper navigational charts are replaced by vector images on computer screens, magnetic compasses enhanced by digital flux gate technology, and chronometers joined by atomic clocks, the demand has been mounting for an extensive update to the classic reference known worldwide as Dutton's. To meet the varied needs of today's recreational, naval, and commercial navigators the Naval Institute introduces this new edition of a guide that has remained the seafarers' choice for more than three-quarters of a century. It blends the traditional navigation techniques first compiled by Benjamin Dutton in 1926 with technological marvels of the twenty-first century to authoritatively cover all phases of surface navigation. For example, while the book acknowledges that many navigators still peer into the skies through sextant telescopes, it also helps them take full advantage of man-made Global Positioning System (GPS) satellites. Valued as both an indispensable quick reference and a comprehensive text, Dutton's makes accessible such foreboding subjects as spherical trigonometry through the use of step-by-step explanations and examples that encourage practical use. To insure accuracy and relevancy, a board of experts made up of naval and Coast Guard officers, merchant mariners, accredited harbor pilots, and sea-service academy professors, has carefully reviewed this fifteenth edition. The result is an unparalleled treatment of the art and science of nautical navigation that both amateur and veteran navigators will use to safely navigate the waters of the world.
Dutton's navigation and piloting by 
Minding the Helm by
A comprehensive analysis of issues in marine navigation and piloting. It addresses the application of new technology to reduce the probability of accidents, controversies over the effectiveness of waterways management and marine pilotage, and navigational decision making. It also explores the way ma
Navigation Rules by
Includes Errata Sheet of Notice to Mariners (NTM) 22/13. This book contains a complete copy of the Inland and International Navigation Rules as presented by the United States Coast Guard. The Coast Guard requires that an up-to-date copy such as this one be carried on all vessels 12 meters (39 feet) or more in length at all times.In addition to a complete copy of the USCG edition (COMDTINST M16672.2D), Paradise Cay Publications has added the following features to make our book more useful and comprehensive. 1) We have created an Annotated Contents. This added feature will help guide the reader to a desired rule. The topic of each subsection of the rules has been noted for quick reference along with the page numbers for Inland and International Rules. 2) We have updated this edition for corrections presented in Notice to Mariners up through November 15, 2004. 3) We have included detailed instructions on how to log on to the NGA (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, formerly NIMA) website and update this Rules Publication.
Navigation Rules and Regulations Handbook 2014 by
This book fulfils your legal requirement to have a copy of the Navigation Rules on your vessel. These are the official rules updated and corrected. They are clearly laid out in plain English. The Official USCG Navigation Rules book is now called, Navigation Rules & Regulations Handbook. Containing - International and Inland Rules of the Road and their respective Annexes, - Bridge-to-Bridge Radiotelephone, Regulations, - Vessel Traffic Management Regulations, - Other pertinent regulations for waterway users.
Oceanography and Seamanship by
Written by an engineer-sailor-oceanographer, and based on the premise that all who go to sea will benefit from a broader interpretation of seamanship, this book attempts in simple terms to explain the ocean as an operating environment, how boats and ships behave in this environment, and what the average sailor can do to make any voyage safer and more pleasurable. Beginning with the ocean's origin, the author describes its geography, circulation, climate, and meteorology. From waves and breakers he takes us through ship dynamics to strategies for heavy weather seamanship and emergency procedures.The author, William G. Van Dorn, confesses to having a "lifelong love affair with the sea, whether swimming, surfing, diving, sailing, or--for the past forty years--just studying its many moods and facets." Readers of this book will find that his "studying" has yielded an exceedingly rich trove of knowledge about the dynamics of the sea and ways in which men and women who go to sea can handle its various conditions.According to Edmond L. Mandin, retired marine superintendent for American President Lines, Oceanography and Seamanship has a place in the master's research library of every APL containership. "It is considered to be the primer for APL deck officers in the strategies of heavy weather seamanship." This book is an outstanding resource for both the recreational sailor and those in the shipping business who would like to learn more about the behavior of the ocean and the response of the craft that ply it.Originally slanted toward cruising yachtsmen, the book has gained a solid reputation among commercial fishermen, charter boat operators, and shipping companies. It is a reference at maritime academies and is used as a textbook in colleges and secondary schools.
Reed's Sextant Simplified by
The sextant is the treasured navigational device of generations of seamen and airmen. It enables position to be determined with good accuracy for ocean navigation, and it was the combination of sextant and chronometer that allowed safe navigation of the oceans for generations of seafarers. Despite the accuracy and ease of use of electronic navigation systems, every navigator should be able to use a sextant. It could even save your life in the event of electronics failure. This book describes how a sextant works, provides practical tips and advice on using it, explains how to read as well as take sights, how to make adjustments and correct errors, and finally advises on how to handle and care for the instrument. Book jacket.
Farwell's Rules of the Nautical Road by
Professional mariners, military and civilian, will find this book to be an invaluable reference in understanding the rules of the road and the role these rules play in managing the risk of collision. The author provides a thorough commentary on the rules and an analysis of collision cases involving abuse of the rules. Maritime attorneys and judges will find the book continues to be an indispensable reference on collision law as Craig Allen provides a mariner's insight into how the rules apply in context and their application by the courts and administrative tribunals. This new edition completely revises chapters on the rules pertaining to good seamanship and special circumstances and on restricted visibility, and it vastly expands coverage of the narrow channel rule, traffic separation schemes, and the application of the rules to high-speed craft. It also extensively revises materials on the look out and risk of collision responsibilities to update coverage on radar and ARPA and to address new technologies, such as integrated bridge systems, automatic identification systems, voyage data recorders and the increasingly active role of VTS. The first update in ten years, the eighth edition upholds and even surpasses the standards set over the past sixty years of the guide's publication.
